Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Coal Mine Tragedy: Meghalaya CM assured to take appropriate action against people involved in Illegal Mining

Coal Mine Tragedy: Meghalaya CM assured to take appropriate action against people involved in Illegal Mining

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 Dec 2018 2:45 PM GMT

Shillong: At a time when the Meghalaya Government repeatedly denied about illegal coal mining activities in the state, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma on Friday assured for an appropriate action against people who are involved in illegal mining.

In the latest information, all the 13 labourers who were trapped inside the coal mine at Ksan near Lytein River under Saipung police station in East Jaintia Hills on Thursday are now being feared dead.

Reportedly, several labourers are engaged in rat hole mining in that particular pit since last three days.

The pit is almost 5000 ft deep and the water continues to gush inside as a result 13 miners got trapped, claimed a report.

Also, there are reports surfacing in the media that out of the 13 labourers, four of whom were from Assam and the rest from Meghalaya.

Speaking to the media, East Jaintia Hills SP Sylvester Nongtner said that a case has been registered in connection with the incident.

SP Nongtner also mentioned that the rescue operations were started on Thursday night.

Around 70 personnel of the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) and 20 of the State Disaster Response Force are currently involved in the search operation, informed the SP Nongtner further.

Following the incident NDRF, District Administration and state police are involved in rescue operation as more than 30 hours have passed.

The labourers were identified as Umar Ali, resident of Magurmari in West Garo Hills, Mezamur Islam of Phesiakandi, Rajabala, West Garo Hills, Mominul Islam of Rajabala, West Garo Hills, Amir Hussain of Apdaguri, Sirang, Assam, Munirul Islam from Bogidar, Sirang, Assam, Saiar Islam – Khoyarsala, Sirang, Assam, Shirapat Ali – Magurmari, West Garo Hills, Mozid Sk – Magurmari, West Garo Hills, Raziul Islam – Magurmari, Phulbari, West Garo Hills, Md. Samsul Haque – Kurihamari, PS-Bhangnamari, Nalbari, Assam, Chal Dkhar, of Lumthari, East Jaintia Hills, Iong Dkhar of Lumthari, East Jaintia Hills and Nilam Dkhar of Lumthari, East Jaintia Hills.

It may also be mentioned that the National Green Tribunal has banned unscientific and unsafe rat-hole coal mining in Meghalaya since April 2014.

Next Story