Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Final voting percentage in Meghalaya stands at 71.37 per cent

Final voting percentage in Meghalaya stands at 71.37 per cent

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 April 2019 4:28 AM GMT

A Correspondent

SHILLONG: Meghalaya recorded voting percentage of 71.37 per cent for the two Parliamentary constituencies – Shillong and Tura that went to polls on April 11 even as the Selsella by-poll recorded 92.20 per cent.

As per the constituency break up – Shillong recorded 65.49 percent while Tura Parliamentary constituency recorded a healthy 81.20 percent. Addressing newsmen on Friday evening, state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Fredrick Roy Kharkongor said that the overall figure of 71.37 percent was the highest in recent times.

Kharkongor pointed out that in 1998 the state recorded the highest voter turnout (74.38 per cent) since Meghalaya came into existence.

He however said that particular year there were simultaneous polling for the MLA and MP seats.

“The 71.37 per cent is the highest as far as stand-alone MP elections is concerned,” the Meghalaya CEO said.

He also stated that compared to the 2014 Lok Sabha election the 2019 poll saw an overall increase of 2.53 percent in voter turnout. In terms of absolute numbers, the CEO pointed out that out of the out of the total of 19, 14, 795 registered voters in Meghalaya 13, 64, 259 exercised their franchise. Out of the 13, 64, 259 who voted 6, 53, 178 were males and 7, 11, 081 were females.

The State has 9, 65, 174 female and 9, 49, 621 male registered electorates.

Meanwhile, the State election department has also recommended re-poll in a polling station in the Selsella assembly constituency. According to the CEO in Konarchar polling station due to “human error” the machines meant for Parliamentary election and assembly by-poll were criss-crossed. There are 712 voters in this polling station.

“After the Returning Officer sent us a report we have recommended re-poll in this particular polling station falling under Selsella assembly constituency,” Kharkongor said.

It may be mentioned that Selsella casted their vote for both the Assembly by-poll as well as Lok Sabha election.

Kharkongor also informed that due to mock-poll data not being cleared in six polling stations across the state, VVPAT slips will be counted. These polling stations are Khliehrangnah under Raliang assembly constituency, and Nongpyndeng under Nongstoin assembly constituency in the Shillong seat.

There are four polling stations in the Tura seat – Passengagre, Tochapara, Amida Simsang all under Gambegre assembly constituency and Dawagittingre under Williamnagar assembly constituency.

The CEO also informed that there would be 13 counting centres and strong rooms and 13 platoons of central armed police forces will be guarding them round the clock.


Next Story