Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Meghalaya Congress Legislature Party Evaluates Poll Performance

Meghalaya Congress Legislature Party Evaluates Poll Performance

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  2 Jun 2019 7:11 AM GMT

A Correspondent

SHILLONG: The Congress Legislature Party (CLP) on Saturday met to review its performance in the recently concluded Lok Sabha election.

“Basically the CLP was convened to evaluate the performance of the party in the Lok Sabha as well as the by-poll to the Selsella assembly seat,” a senior Congress MLA said.

The meeting was held at the residence of CLP leader Dr Mukul Sangma.

Sources also informed that the CLP meeting had reaffirmed its support to Congress president Rahul Gandhi. Earlier last week, Rahul Gandhi had expressed his desire to relinquish from the post of AICC chief.

It may be mentioned that Congress managed to retain the Shillong parliamentary seat but failed to wrest the Tura seat from the National People’s Party (NPP).

The party also failed to hold on to the Selsella assembly seat, which had gone for a by-poll after the seat fell vacant after the demise of the Congress MLA and former Minister, Clement R Marak

Congress candidate and sitting MP, Vincent Pala won the Shillong Lok Sabha seat for the third consecutive term. He defeated his nearest United Democratic Party candidate, Jemino Mawthoh by over 1.52 lakh votes.

NPP candidate, Agatha Sangma won the seat from Tura Lok Sabha seat. She defeated the Congress candidate and former Chief Minister, Mukul Sangma by around 64, 000 votes.

On the other hand, the NPP has also wrested the Selsella seat from the Congress with its candidate, Ferlin CA Sangma securing 15,857 votes (54.66 percent vote.)

June Eliana R Marak of the Congress came second securing 11, 461 votes. She is the wife of Late Clement Marak.

In the 2018 State Assembly polls the Congress was the single largest party with 21 seats, but their strength was reduced to 19 after Ranikor MLA MM Danggo switched sides to NPP. Danggo however lost the by-poll to United Democratic Party’s, Pius Marwein. The Congress also lost the Selsella seat to the NPP, thereby taking their number to 21.

Also read: Meghalaya news

Next Story