Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

National People’s Party releases first list of candidates

National People’s Party releases first list of candidates

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 Dec 2018 10:03 AM GMT

KHADC elections


SHILLONG: The National People’s Party (NPP) on Sunday released the first list of candidates for the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC) elections which will be held on February 27, next year.

Interestingly, the name of current Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the KHADC, Hispreaching Son Shylla is missing from the first list.

In the first list of candidates released by the NPP, there are three sitting Members of District Council (MDCs). Jansing Tynsong (Langkyrdem-Laitkroh), Victor Ranee (Jirang) and Pyniaid Sing Syiem (Sohryngkham).

Tynsong and Ranee in the 2014 polls had won from the Congress, while Syiem won from the Hill State People’s Democratic Party. The three with a few others shifted allegiance to join the NPP It may be mentioned the NPP did not win even a single seat in the 2014 MDC election. The others whose names were announced are – Bainor Rapsang (Mawphlang-Diengiei), Anthony N Nongbri (Laitumkhrah-Malki), Mitchel Wankhar (Laban-Mawprem), Rangkynsai Kharbuki (Umroi), Apsharailang Syiem (Nongstoin), World Champion Paliar (Rambrai-Jyrngam), Kitborlang Nongrem (Langrin) and Diverland Lyngdoh (Mawkyrwat).

Also Read: Arunachal NPP delegation calls on Party chief

Next Story