Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

NEHU's NSS Cell celebrates 53rd Foundation Day

The NSS Cell, NEHU celebrated the 53rd NSS Foundation Day on September 24, 2022, at Multi-Use Convention Hall, NEHU.


Sentinel Digital Desk

SHILLONG: The NSS Cell, NEHU celebrated the 53rd NSS Foundation Day on September 24, 2022, at Multi-Use Convention Hall, NEHU.

The programme started with a welcome speech by Dr MM Khymdeit, NSS Programme Coordinator, NSS Cell NEHU. He gave a brief introduction about NSS and all the activities that were carried out during the last two years.

F Rumnong, State NSS Officer, Government of Meghalaya was present on the occasion as a special guest. He shed light on the history of NSS in the country and Meghalaya as a whole. He mentioned the importance of NSS in various institutions such as higher secondary, colleges and universities level. He spoke about how NSS helps in developing and building the personality and character of students. Followed by this, he mentioned the regional and National activities such as Republic Parade, NSS Youth Festival, National Youth Parliament, National Integration Camp, Ek Bharat Shrestha Bharat and International Programme such as Youth Exchange Programmes to different countries. He also mentioned the upcoming programmes to be held in Shillong such as the Pre-RD parade camp and North East Youth Festival. He also mentioned the importance to promote NSS State Festivals and State NSS Award. The SNO also mentioned the need of giving weightage and incentives to NSS volunteers so that it will be helpful for the students to avail jobs. He concluded his speech by shedding the importance of enhancing skills through NSS and it can act as a change maker for the NSS volunteers.

The University Level Awards, 2022 were conferred by the Chief Guest and others. In recognition of their commendable service to the community the best NSS unit, 2022 was conferred to NSS Unit Ri-Bhoi College, Nongpoh, Best NSS Programme Officers were conferred to Iasuklang Kharumnuid, St. Mary's College, Shillong and Yomica V Syiemlieh, Ri-Bhoi College, Nongpoh, and also the Best NSS Volunteers were conferred to Naphisharoi Kharbuli of NSS Unit, NEHU, Shillong, Kerdarilin Khongwir of NSS Unit, Lady Keane College, Shillong, Armstrong Lyngdoh of NSS Unit, Ri-Bhoi College, Nongpoh, Suklang Paul Kurbah of NSS Unit, NEHU, Shillong and PyndemlangLyting of NSS Unit, Shillong College, Shillong, a press release said.

Also Read: NEHUTA (North-Eastern Hill University Teachers' Association) forms new executive body

Also Watch:

Next Story