Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Security to be further tightened for counting of votes in Meghalaya

Security to be further tightened for counting of votes in Meghalaya

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  22 April 2019 2:50 AM GMT


SHILLONG: The Election Commission (EC) will be sending observers to Meghalaya four days before the counting of votes for both the Shillong Lok Sabha constituency and Tura Lok Sabha constituency including the by-elections held at the Selsella constituency.

The counting of votes will be held on May 23. Voting for both the LS seats was held on April 11.

According to information, the observers from the Election Commission will be staying in the State until the completion of counting of votes and other election formalities.

It is also learnt that security has been increased ahead of the counting of votes and the security presence is very high at the strong rooms which house the EVMs and VVPATs from across the State.

The counting of votes will be held at 13 places which includes Shillong, Sohra, Jowai, Khliehriat, Nongpoh, Mawkyrwat, Nongstoiñ, Mairang (for Shillong Lok Sabha constituency) while for the Tura Lok Sabha constituency counting will be held at Tura, Williamnagar, Baghmara, Resubelpara, and Ampati.

The counting in Shillong will be on a larger scale as votes from 15 Assembly constituencies in East Khasi Hills district will be counted here. In Shillong, the votes will be counted at Polo, Indoor Sports Hall and also at Dalang Stage.

During the day of vote counting, additional CCTV cameras will be installed at the counting venues.

It has been learnt that 65.49 per cent of electorates turned out to vote for the MP election from Shillong Constituency and 81.30 per cent for Tura constituency, while the by-election for the Selsella Assembly constituency witnessed a turnout of 92.20% voters.

Also read: Meghalaya news

Next Story