Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Three candidates file nominations for Ranikor seat, Shillong

Three candidates file nominations for Ranikor seat, Shillong

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  4 Aug 2018 9:51 AM GMT

A Reporter

SHILLONG: Three candidates have filed their nominations for the Ranikor by-polls slated for August 23, today. They belong to the National People’s Party (NPP), Indian National Congress (INC) and People’s Democratic Front (PDF). In South Tura constituency, Congress candidate Charlotte W Momin filed her nomination today.

Former Ranikor MLA, Martin M Danggo filed his nomination on a NPP ticket, former GSU leader Jackiush M Sangma on an INC ticket and former Mawsynram MLA Pynshngainlang N Syiem as a PDF candidate. Pius Marwein who has been projected as a UDP candidate for the seat has not filed his nomination as yet. The last date for nomination is August 6, scrutiny on August 7 and last date for withdrawal of candidature is August 9. Polling will be held on August 23 and counting on August 27.

The Ranikor Assembly seat fell vacant after former Congress leader, Danggo resigned from the post of MLA to join the NPP. Meanwhile, in South Tura, INC candidate, Charlotte W Momin, a retired principal of Tura Government Public School filed her nomination today. Chief Minister Conrad Sangma had filed his nomination for the seat earlier this week. Polling in this constituency will be held simultaneously with Ranikor.

Next Story