Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Mizoram Polls: 36 Candidates Announced by Congress

Mizoram Polls: 36 Candidates Announced by Congress

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  12 Oct 2018 12:39 PM GMT

Commencing its pre-poll adventure in Mizoram, the Congress announced the names of its 36 candidates on Thursday who is to contest on the forthcoming assembly polls in the state. The ruling party of the state, Congress also announced that it will be contesting in all the 40 seats in the state. As four names are yet to be announced, the political party says that those will be disclosed only after consulting with the autonomous district councils.

Speaking to the media, Youth Congress President Lalmalsawma said, “We are focusing on very young candidates this time. There are four candidates below the age of 40 and the majority are below 50. This is a conscious decision – the sitting MLAs have decided to give way to the younger lot.”

Some of the veteran candidates of the party who have been dropped from the list are R Romawia from Aizawl North-I, former Labour minister Lalrinmawia Ralte from Hachhek and Deputy Speaker Lalrinawma from Aizawl East-I. Of the total 36 names declared for the polls, 12 are new faces. However, Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla will be contesting from two constituencies- his home turf Serchhip and Champai South. Notably, Thanhawla is playing his role as Mizoram CM for the third consecutive term.

The assembly polls in Mizoram are to be held on November 28. As per the announcement of the election commission on October 6, there will be Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh and Chhattisgarh and the counting for the five states will be held simultaneously on December 11.

Next Story