Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Shrinking Office Days & Waning Work Culture!

Shrinking Office Days & Waning Work Culture!

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  2 Dec 2019 3:40 AM GMT

The total number of official holidays in 2020 will be 112 (including Sundays and Saturdays) out of the 366 days as it will be a Leap Year.


GUWAHATI: The time has arrived for the Assam government to come up with a practical road map for the State’s overall development vis-a-vis the number of working days for government employees that have been getting reduced with each passing year. The moot point is the number of holidays that the government employees enjoy. This, in turn, is intimately connected with work culture. Taking charge of the reins in 2016, Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal dwelt on the need for improving work culture among the government employees, and also urged them to do hard work. However, the hard fact is that the number of working days in a year is getting decreased due to the increase of government holidays. There is scope for reducing the number of ‘Gazetted Holidays’ by withdrawing at least two days; and also converting a few of the ‘Gazetted Holidays’ to restricted holidays.

From 2010 to 2019, the government holidays have been as follows: There were 33 such holidays in 2010; 34 in 2011; 32 in 2012; 31 in 2013; 30 in 2014; 32 in 2015; 32 in 2016; 32 in 2017; 32 in 2018 and 35 days in 2019. The State Cabinet has also decided to keep the number of government holidays at 35 in 2020 also. Compared to 2017, three ‘Gazetted Holidays’ increased in 2019 and 2020.

In 2020, besides the 35 days declared as ‘Gazetted Holidays’, the government employees will enjoy 52 Sundays also 24 days as Second and Fourth Saturdays which are basically holidays for them. However, six of the 35 ‘Gazetted Holidays’ fall on Saturdays and Sundays. Therefore, the actual number of ‘Gazetted Holidays’ will be 29.

Moreover, there are two half holidays on account of Muharram and Lakshmi puja. On such days, the offices close at 1 pm.

The total number of official holidays (including Sundays and Saturdays) in 2020 will be 112 days out of the 366 days as it will be a Leap Year.

In addition to the ‘Gazetted Holidays’, the local administrations declare ‘Doul Jatra’ and ‘Diwali’ also as holidays. Besides, the government employees enjoy two restricted holidays on certain festivals.

Also Read: Postal strike: State post offices remained closed for two days

Also Watch: Biswanath Sub Division Primary Teachers' Association staged 3 hr sit in Demonstration

Next Story