Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Udharband Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Udharband Constituency - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.

Udharband Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Sentinel Digital Desk

Udharbond is a town located in the Cachar district in the Indian state of Assam, which is also the name of a circle and block in the town. It is located 17 kilometres from the district headquarters of Silchar. The local languages used in the constituency are Bengali, Sylheti, Meitei, Dimasa. It is one of the few places in the Barak Valley, which is known for its religious attraction, which is situated on the banks of river Madhura, one of the prime tributaries of the Barak river.


Udharbond Vidhan Sabha Constituency is the 12th constituency of the Assam Assembly. Udharbond is a part of the Silchar Lok Sabha constituency. The elected MLA of the 2016 Assam election is Mihir Kanti Shome of Bharatiya Janata Party, who won with 58204 votes and a percentage of 48.33%.


Udharbond Assembly constituency is a part of the Silchar parliamentary constituency, which comes under the Silchar district of Assam.


Udharbond comes under the Cachar District, which is an administrative district of Assam. It is in the Barak Valley alongside Hailakandi and Karimganj. The name Cachar had its origin in the Kachari Kingdom, and Kachar was originally an area under the Tripura Kingdom.

Geographically Cachar is over an area of 3786 square kilometres. Barak is the primary river in the district, along with other small and big tributaries that run through the Cachar district. Mostly Cachar consists of plains, however, there are small little hills that surround the place from multiple corners.

Although Cachar is recognised as one of the crucial business hubs of Assam yet economically, it is not as advanced as it was supposed to be. In 2016 Cachar was declared as one of the country's 250 most backward districts among the 640 districts. It also falls under one of the eleven districts of Assam, which is currently receiving funds under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

There are three sub-divisions in Cachar districts which are- Lakhipur, Katigorah and Silchar. Additionally, it has seven assembly constituencies such as as- Sonai, Dholai, Lakhipur, Udharbond, Barkhola and Katigorah. Out of these seven assembly constituencies, Dholai is designated as an SC constituency.

Based on the 2011 population census of India, Cachar has a population of 1736617 people with a 459 population density per square kilometre. Over the decade from 2001 to 2011, Cachar has seen 20.17% of population growth. It has a literacy rate of around 80.36%, and the sex ratio is 958 women per 1000 male.

Bengali is the official language of the Cachar district which is spoken by almost 75% of people, and English is recognised as the second official language of the district. Moreover, Bengali Muslims are the dominant people.

In terms of education, Cachar is no longer lagging behind as it houses some prestigious educational institutions in the state. The district has a central university known as Assam University. It also has a medical college and NIT, which is one of the thirty NITs of India. Apart from these, there are many other colleges and schools in the districts.


In the Assembly election of 2016, the BJP's Mihir Kanti Shome won the seat by defeating Indian National Congress' Ajit Singh. Mihir Kanti Shome got 54204 votes compared to Congress contestant Ajit Singh's 45598 votes.

In the 2011 Assembly election, Indian National Congress' Ajit Singh had routed the Bharatiya Janata Party's Surendra Prasad Sinha. Ajit Singh got a huge number of 56755 votes compared to Surendra Prasad Sinha, who netted just 12320 votes.

The voter turnout in Udharbond in the previous Assembly election was 81.28 per cent.


As per the 2011 census of India, Udharbond has a total population of 200992. Out of these, 95.5% of people live in rural areas, and 4.5% live in urban areas.


Udharbond block falls under the village panchayat. There are a total of fifteen panchayats in the Udharbond block, namely- Doyapur, Akratipur, Durga Nagar IV, Gosaipur Durganagar, Kumbha, Khaspur, Kulicherra, Larsing, Modhura, Pagram, Majargram Grant, Salganga, and Tikalpar.


Scheduled Caste (SC) constitutes 6.7%, while Scheduled Tribe (ST) are 2.44% of the total population in Udharbond Constituency.


Udharbond is a tehsil in the Cachar district of Assam. There are no cities under this constituency. Some of the nearby important places include Silchar and towns like Haflong, Hailakandi, and Karimganj.


In the Assembly election of 2016, the constituency had a total of 140607 registered voters. Out of which male voters are 73565, and female voters are 67042.


The polling percentage in the Assembly election of 2016 was 79.59% in Udharbond constituency.

Results of Last Five Assembly Elections:

  1. In the 1996 Assam Assembly Elections, Jagannath Singha from Indian National Congress party won the Udharband seat with 23900 number of votes. He defeated Joy Prakash Tiwari of AGP party.
  2. In the 2001 Assam Assembly Elections, Brindaban Ajit Singh from INC party won the Dholai seat with 39432 votes. He defeated Kamalendu Bhattacharjee who fought as an Independent.
  3. In the 2006 Assam Assembly Elections, Ajit Singh from INC party won the Udharbond seat with 39432 votes. He once again defeated Kamalendu Bhattacharjee.
  4. In the 2011 Assam Assembly Elections, Ajit Singh from INC party won the Udharbond seat with 56755 votes. He defeated Surendra Prasad Sinha of BJP party.
  5. In the 2016 Assam Assembly Elections, Mihir Kanti Shome from BJP party won the Udharbond seat with 54204 votes. He defeated Ajit Singh of INC party.


In the last assembly election, the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Mihir Kanti Shome won with a total of 54204 votes, with a 48.33% vote share. Ajit Singh from the Indian National Congress Party lost the battle with a margin of 8606 votes. Liakat Ali Laskar from the AIUDF came in the third position by securing 8715 votes. Sadik Hussain Barlaskar got 882 votes and 1745 votes were NOTA.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News