Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam's Next CM: It is Advantage Himanta Biswa Sarma, Say Sources

The name of the BJP legislature party chief will be proposed by the BJP Parliamentary Board observers, the elected MLAs will second the name they want as their leader. This person will be Assam's next CM

Assams Next CM: It is Advantage Himanta Biswa Sarma, Say Sources

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 May 2021 5:17 AM GMT

Guwahati: In just a few hours from now Assam will know who its next Chief Minister will be. A meeting of the Assam BJP legislature party will begin at 12 PM at the conference hall of the Assam Legislative Assembly in Dispur. The elected 60 BJP MLAs would elect the name of the next CM of Assam.

Sources are saying that state finance and health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma appears to have a clear advantage, edge over the incumbent CM Sarbananda Sonowal.

The Legislature party meet would be attended by the BJP Parliamentary Board members and observers, BJP's National General Secretary (Organisation) B L Santosh, BJP's National General Secretary Arun Singh, Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, Pawan Sharma and Assam in-charge Baijayant Panda. Sources said that the observers, Tomar and Arun Singh would propose the name of the legislature party leader and the elected MLAs would have to second the name of the person they want as their leader. This person will become the 15th CM of Assam.

A couple of more meetings are scheduled during the day today. After the Assam BJP legislature party's meeting at 11 AM, another meeting would be held with the Assam BJP allies AGP and UPPL. Post that around 4 pm, a team of Assam BJP leaders including President Ranjeet Das, elected legislature party leader and other senior Assam BJP leaders are likely to meet Governor Jagdish Mukhi to stake claim to form the government.

Swearing-in ceremony of a mini-cabinet would be held at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra in Guwahati on Monday. The preparations for the swearing-in ceremony is underway.

According to sources, a decision on the legislature party leader has been taken at the three rounds of meeting held in New Delhi on Saturday. The meeting was attended by BJP's Parliamentary Board members, BJP's National President J P Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP National General Secretary (Organisation) B L Santosh along with Sarabananda Sonowal and Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Also Read: Assam's Next CM: 3rd Round of Discussions End in New Delhi, Decision Likely on Sunday

Also Watch:

Next Story