Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Breaking: Himanta Biswa Sarma is the Next CM of Assam

The decision was taken at a meeting of the Assam BJP legislature party attended by the 60 elected BJP MLAs. The meeting was held in Guwahati

Breaking: Himanta Biswa Sarma is the Next CM of Assam

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 May 2021 7:45 AM GMT

Guwahati: Putting an end to all the high drama, suspense, intense debate and speculation, the Assam's BJP legislature party elected Himanta Biswa Sarma as the next Chief Minister of Assam. The 52-year-old astute politician will be Assam's 15th Chief Minister.

Himanta Biswa Sarma's name was proposed by outgoing CM Sarbananda Sonowal and Assam BJP President Ranjeet Kumar Dass seconded it.

It was decided at the BJP Parliamentary Board meeting attended by National President J P Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP's National General Secretary (Organisation) B L Santosh on Saturday in New Delhi that whoever is chosen as the leader of the Assam BJP legislature party would be the CM of Assam.

Arun Singh (BJP's National General Secretary), Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, Assam in-charge Baijayant J Panda and B L Santosh, BJP's National General Secretary (organization) were present at the legislature party meeting as observers. They felicitated Sarma soon after his name was supported by all the 60 BJP MLAs.

BJP's ally AGP has assured its support to Sarma. This means NDA in Assam now has the strength of 69 MLAs, comfortably past the halfway mark of 64 in the 126-member Assam Legislative Assembly. BJP won 60 seats and its allies AGP won 9 and UPPL won 6 seats.

Now few more formalities are to be completed before the official announcement is made naming Himanta Biswa Sarma as Assam's next CM.

After several rounds of meetings held on Saturday with BJP's Parliamentary Board members, Nadda, Amit Shah and B L Santosh with Sonowal and Sarma it was decided that the name of Assam's next CM would be finalized at a meeting of the Assam BJP's legislature party meet.

He has won the Jalukbari seat 5 times (2001, 2006, 2011, 2016 & 2021), lost just once in 1996. A former Congress politician, Sarma has served as the Cabinet Minister in all the 3 terms of Tarun Gogoi led Congress Government. He joined BJP in 2015 due to differences with the then CM Tarun Gogoi.

Sarma is known to be the best political strategist of Assam and Northeast and is often referred to as modern-day Chanakya. He has been the troubleshooter for BJP in the entire Northeast. He is also known as the BJP Mascot in Assam and NE. He is credited for the fast-spreading of BJP's footprint across Assam and NE. Sarma holds the position of NEDA convenor.

Born on February 1, 1969, in Guwahati, Sarma graduated from Cotton College. He holds a Law degree and a PhD. He practised Law in Gauhati High Court.

Sarma is also the President Badminton Association of India and Assam Cricket Association.

Sarma has been lauded and appreciated for his role as the Health Minister of the state in controlling and managing the deadly COVID pandemic. He had received widespread support and love from the common man for his handling of the COVID situation. This has been one main reason why people of Assam and several of the MLAs, BJP party workers and even several Opposition leaders wanted Sarma to be made the CM of Assam.

Also Read: Assam's Next CM: It is Advantage Himanta Biswa Sarma, Say Sources

Also Watch:

Next Story