Congress-AIUDF alliance to win 22 seats in Assam Assembly Elections: BJP Assam President Ranjeet Dass

While BJP Assam president Ranjeet Dass said Congress-AIUDF alliance will win 22 seats, he said, BJP, on the other hand, will win 102-104 constituencies
Congress-AIUDF alliance to win 22 seats in Assam Assembly Elections: BJP Assam President Ranjeet Dass

Guwahati: Ranjeet Kumar Dass, Assam Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president said that the Congress party and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) will only win 22 seats together in the upcoming Assam Assembly Elections of 2021.

Speaking in a party programme held in Hailakandi district on Friday, Assam BJP president said that BJP-led alliance will win around 102-104 constituencies in the upcoming elections. Dass said that these figures are based on the survey done by the workers of their party.

The party would field candidates in the upcoming elections from minority communities in seven constituencies of the state. Dass, who is on a ten-day tour, said that out of the total 15 constituencies in the Barak valley, BJP will win at least 13 seats. The 15 constituencies of Barak Valley are Patharkandi, Katigorah, Dholai, Udharbond, Sonai, Silchar, Barkhola, Lakhipur, Badarpur, Algapur, Hailakandi, Katlicherra, Karimganj South, Karimganj North, and Ratabari. In the 2016 Assam legislative elections, BJP won eight seats in the Barak Valley.

The BJP candidates winning from different constituencies are: Krishnendu Paul won from Patharkandi constituency, Aminul Haque Laskar won from Sonai constituency, Dilip Kumar Paul won from Silchar constituency, Kripanath Mallah won from Ratabari constituency, Parimal Suklabaidya won from Dholai constituency, Mihir Kanti Shome won from Udharbond constituency, Kishor Nath won from Barkhola constituency and Amar Chand Jain won from Katigorah constituency.

BJP state president, Dass shared a few pictures from his tour on Twitter.

"Had a meeting with the @BJP4India Members of LA-8 Algapur today to discuss various matters concerning the party. I am glad to witness the enthusiasm and selfless service of the karyakartas towards the party. @BJP4Assam will lead the state to a higher scale of development," Dass tweeted.

The BJP, Assam has already won the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) elections on December 19. They won 34 out of the 36 seats. Along with TAC, BJP also formed the council in Bodoland, together with UPPL and Gana Suraksha Party.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam