Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

UPPL's Lawrence Islary Defeated 6-Times MLA & BPF Heavyweight Pramila Rani Brahma from Kokrajhar East

Lawrence Islary defeated six times winner of Kokrajhar East seat and Assam Minister for Social Welfare and Soil Conservation Pramila Rani Brahma in the 2021 Assam Election

UPPLs Lawrence Islary Defeated 6-Times MLA & BPF Heavyweight Pramila Rani Brahma from Kokrajhar East

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  2 May 2021 9:57 AM GMT

GUWAHATI: Lawrence Islary of UPPL emerged as nothing less than a giant killer after he defeated 6-times MLA from Kokrajhar East, Assam Minister for Social Welfare and BPF heavyweight, Pramila Rani Brahma. Islary polled 39,120 votes while the minister got 25,344 votes. These are the votes polled as per the Election Commission of India's data at 3PM on Sunday, the counting day.

Counting is still underway but a lead of over 13,000 is seen as a clean margin to be declared the winner. However, an official announcement is awaited and will happen after the final round of counting.

Who is Lawrence Islary?

Islary, 44, a student leader and former General Secretary of All Bodo Students Union (ABSU) had joined UPPL in February this year. He was associated with ABSU since 2001 and held several positions in the students union.

Islary was among the signatories of the Bodo peace accord. Islary, an Arts graduate from Fakiragram College, is a resident of Laoripara, Kokrajhar.

Earlier, the All Bodo Students' Union (ABSU) former general secretary and a signatory of the January 27, 2020 Bodo Peace Accord or BTR Accord, Lawrence Islary along with several former ABSU leaders and workers, formally joined the United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) at a grand joining ceremony held at Khangklabada in Kokrajhar district.

Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) Chief Executive Member and UPPL president Pramod Boro welcomed Islary and others with traditional Aronai and phulam gamosa. Former MLA Parmeswar Brahma and Ex-BTC Executive Member Rabindra Bala Biswas are among the prominent faces who joined the UPPL on Thursday. Around 2,000 members from various parties and organizations, including the BPF, GSP and ABSU, also formally joined the UPPL.

Also Read: West Bengal Election 2021 Live Update: TMC Lead in 202 Seats while BJP Lead in 86 Seats

Next Story