Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BY-POLLS LIVE UPDATES: BJP Leads in 3 constituencies, UPPL in 2

The election machinery has taken care of all arrangements for conduct of a free and fair elections and in a safe manner following all Covid-19 protocols.

BY-POLLS LIVE UPDATES: BJP Leads in 3 constituencies, UPPL in 2

Sentinel Digital Desk

Live Updates

  • 2 Nov 2021 8:55 AM GMT

    Gosaigaon constituency by-election result: Jiron Basumatary wins in Gossaigaon

    BTR chief Pramod Bodo took Twitter to announce that UPPL candidate Jiron Basumatary “secured a big win” in Gossaigaon constituency.

  • 2 Nov 2021 8:55 AM GMT

    Bhabanipur constituency by-election result: Phanidhar Talukdar wins in Bhabanipur

    After 16th round, BJP’s Phanidhar Talukdar wins with 63,355 votes in Bhabanipur constituency, however, no official declaration has been made.

  • 2 Nov 2021 8:54 AM GMT

    Thowra constituency by-election result: Sushanta Borgohain wins in Thowra

    BJP candidate Sushanta Borgohain wins in the Thowra constituency after securing 54,956 votes. The official declaration is yet to be made.

  • 2 Nov 2021 8:23 AM GMT

    In Assam BJP and Allies Set to Register Emphatic Win On All 5 constituencies, Tweets Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma

  • 2 Nov 2021 7:15 AM GMT

    Election Commission Impose Ban On Victory Procession

    The Election Commission has reminded its poll officials that there is a ban on victory processions to prevent the spread of covid-19 in the states where counting is underway for Lok Sabha and assembly by-poll.

  • 2 Nov 2021 6:37 AM GMT

    Assam By-Polls Dharjya Konwar Claims Victory in Thowra Constituency

    Raijor Dal leader and an Independent candidate of the Thowra constituency, Dhairjya Konwer claimed that he would win comfortably. Konwer also added that the people have wanted to defeat an “evil" power and as such, they voted for him.

    Without taking the name the independent candidate also said that he had received tremendous support from the people who tried to teach a lesson to “traitors".

    “People voted against traitors. We would triumph. We worked hard and received support from the people," he said, alleging that the BJP rigged in the three voting stations of the constituency.

  • 2 Nov 2021 6:30 AM GMT

    Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in three seats while the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) is leading in 2 Assembly seats.

    Meanwhile, in Gossaigaon's seat, Jiron Basumatary of BJP ally United People’s Party, Liberal (UPPL) is leading while Jolen Daimary of UPPL is leading in Tamulpur.

    In the Thowra constituency by-election result, BJP’s Sushanta Borgohain is leading by 10,309 votes against Raijor Dal candidate Dhaijya Konwar.

    In the Mariani constituency by-election result, BJP candidate Rupjyoti Kurmi is leading by 21,947 votes against his nearest rival Luhit Konwar of Congress.

    In the Bhabanipur constituency by-election result, BJP candidate Phanidhar Talukdar is leading by 27,862 votes against Sailendra Nath Das of Congress.

    In the Gosaigaon constituency by-election result, Jiron Basumatary is leading by 12,653 votes against his nearest rival, Dhruba Kumar Brahma of Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF).

    In the Tamulpur constituency by-election result, UPPL candidate Jolen Daimary is leading by 12,001 votes against independent candidate Ganesh Kachary.

  • 2 Nov 2021 4:07 AM GMT

    BJP Leading In Thowra, Mariani & Bhavanipur

    The first big update on the vote counting of the by-elections in Assam started at 8 am in the state.

    United People’s Party Liberation (UPPL) is leading in the Tamulpur constituency.

    UPPL candidate Jalen Daimary is leading in Tamulpur.

  • 30 Oct 2021 10:53 AM GMT

    64.30% Voter Turnout Recorded By 3 PM

    An estimated 64.58 per cent of the total 7.96 lakh electors exercised their franchise till 3 PM.

    Poll Percentage till 3:18 pm

    Gossaigaon – 71.11%

    Bhabanipur – 68%

    Mariani – 54.79%

    Thowra – 70.4%

    Overall percentage – 64.30%

  • 30 Oct 2021 8:32 AM GMT

    Over 50% Voting Till 1 PM

    Around 50 percent polling has been recorded till 1 PM today in the five constituencies of Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani and Thowra which went to a by- election.

    As per the chief election officer (CEO) Assam, in Gossaigoan 57.94 percent, in Bhabanipur 62 percent, in Tamulpur some 47 percent, Mariani 35.13 percent and in Thowra at least 54.52 percent voting was recorded till 1 PM.

Next Story