Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam Boxer Lovlina Borgohain Elected As IBA's Athletes' Committee Chair & Board of Directors Member

Lovlina has confirmed that she has accepted her role and look forward to represent India and other boxers at the Board of Directors' meeting.

Assam Boxer Lovlina Borgohain Elected As IBAs Athletes Committee Chair & Board of Directors Member

Sentinel Digital Desk

Guwahati: International Boxing Association (IBA), on May 25, announced that Indian boxer and Tokyo Olympics Bronze medalist Lovlina Borgohain has received the highest number of votes during the election held at the 2022 Women's World Championships and has therefore been elected as the chair and a voting member on the Board of Directors for the IBA's Athletes' Committee.

Apart from Lovlina, Indian boxer Shiva Thapa has also been elected as a member of the IBA Athletes Committee after the polls conducted during the 2021 IBA Men's World Championships.

The duo have confirmed that they have accepted their roles and look forward to representing India and other boxers at the Board of Directors' meeting.

It may be noted that both the boxers are under the Sports Authority of India's (SAI) Target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS).

"I feel honoured to have been elected as the chair of IBA's Athlete's Committee, I expected to become a member, but never thought that I will also become the chair of the committee, this will help me promote Indian boxing and especially women boxing to other boxers of the world," Lovlina said while speaking of being elected as the Chair.

"This is a huge opportunity for me to promote boxing and I plan to first discuss what all needs to be addressed in Boxing this year with other members and boxers of the world and then take those suggestions and grievances to the Board of Director's committee," she added.

Lovlina took to her official Twitter handle to express her delightfulness and also thanked those who voted for her.

"Big congratulations @LovlinaBorgohai for being elected the Chair of the @IBA_Boxing Atheletes' Committee and @shivathapa for being elected a Member of @IBA_Boxing Athletes' Committee. It's a big responsibility and I wish both of you the very best in delivering your duties," Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Anurag Singh Thakur wrote on Twitter while congratulating the athletes.

Meanwhile, the boxers that participated in the Men and Women's world championships that were held in October 2021 and May 2022 respectively elected Lovlina and Shiva.

Also read: DC Keerthi Jalli visits flood-ravaged areas in Borkhola and Salchapra development blocks

Also watch:

Next Story